What does Serendipity, ISS, Eclipse 2017 have in common?

International Space Station transits the 2017 Eclipse, a lucky capture on my part.

OK, here was the WOW shot for me during yesterday’s Solar Eclipse . . . Just luck? Serendipity?

Perhaps . . . You might say it was Luck that I pressed capture at the precise moment the International Space Station (ISS) transited the field of view for the eclipse while I was playing with my H-Alpha CCD imaging Setup.  You might say it was Serendipity that ISS passed in front of my imaging rig, after all the technique is called “Lucky imaging” . . .  The composite image (consists of 60 frames extracted from the full avi) shows the path of the ISS across the face’s of the Sun as it was being eclipsed by the Moon. Although not as good as NASA’s image made during the transit, theirs is in “White Light” where as mine is in H-Alpha.  I was playing around with my H-Alpha setup using various camera lens / filter combinations when just after pressing the capture button I saw something wiz through the frame . . . later I discovered it was the ISS . . . so YES, I am pretty happy with my results. No not the pristine image, but a unique image that I made myself and no one including myself can make this one again.

73% at totality from my location

 

Two of my cameras mounted and shooting in White light configuration.

 

I’ll post a few more later, but remember you can’t capture it if your not shooting . . . and always know that Serendipity may step in at any time 😉

Digipainter . . . aka (Tim) is outta here.

4 thoughts on “What does Serendipity, ISS, Eclipse 2017 have in common?

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

