2017 year of the Fire Rooster

Hi everyone

I’m still here, kickin

2017 year of the Fire Rooster (Chicken)

My reward for my Astro Photography efforts, my photo (Dec)

My reward for my Astro Photography efforts, my photo (Dec) included in the A4B 2017 Calendar, from the A4B Beginner Astro Photography Face Book group.

 

The evolving Astro rig

The evolving Astro rig, the primary parts anyway, Top to Bottom; Orion 50mm guidescope with Orion SAAG guide camera, Orion ED80 Telescope, Celestron Star sense alignment camera, Celestron AVX mount, 1 of three battery packs used to run the mount, dew straps and laptop when doing guided photo sessions.  I do manage the wires a bit better when the rig is setup for operation. That’s the D7000 hanging off the rear of the scope.

 

The Orion Nebula, one of my favorite DSO Targets

The Orion Nebula, one of my favorite DSO Targets

  Well what am I up to, besides not going out much as we are getting loads of rain, I’m not bitchin but we’re getting way to much all at once.  After many fires about the foothills and Sierra Nevada Mountains the ground is reaching a dangerous saturation level ! Can we say Mud Slides, land slides and were there was fire, there is no vegetation to hold the soil on the hillsides.  That has kept me from venturing out to the mountains as well as having a bad sinus cold this year.   Obviously I haven’t been out much either day or night.

Bathing Anna's Hummingbird

Bathing Anna’s Hummingbird

 

Female Anna's Hummingbird

Female Anna’s Hummingbird

 

 

Male Anna's Hummingbird

Male Anna’s Hummingbird

 

The Hummingbirds are active and depending on my feeders.  The rain has little effect, we’ve not had but a few freezing days this winter, mainly above 40 degrees with nights occasionally reaching just above freezing.  My old Nikon D7000 and Nikkor 300mm f/4 AF lens are still “the combo” for shots from the kitchen window.

I have taken a bit of a hiatus from film photography for a bit, and digital as well with the exception of DSLR astro photography.  It’s good to do a reset once in awhile.  We’ll see how it goes in another month.  I also turn another year old this month, W0Ot woot!

Most of my film renovation projects are completed, nothing new in the wings, I may soon look at clearing out the storage shelves and letting some of my treasures go, they need to be used and I know there are some new eyes and ideas that could use them, for now the dust is getting thicker, but that’s for another blog.

I’ll get my groove back, I just need a rest to recharge the old body and mind.

Have fun, don’t count me out . . . when the weather clears I will be back out and about . . . film, paper or digital it’s all fun.  Waiting for some clear night skies so I can go play with my toys.

DigiPainteR . . . . aka Tim

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

