8×10 Camera 8×10 Paper Negatives

Me & my Eastman Kodak 2D 8x10 View Camera

Me & my Eastman Kodak 2D 8×10 View Camera

Here it is a month after I started collecting parts and fitting the pieces together to end up with this beautiful and functional 8×10 camera.  Yes I know it is not complete, I still need a few items like a rear rail, and a tripod block, but those items can wait and are not mission critical to delay making pictures.  As you can see by the smile I am having fun, I made a temp lens board for the camera and after two test shots I decided it was indeed ready for a road test.  A fellow photographer friend (Ron Holman who was nice enough to shoot this picture on my little fuji X100) and I took a road trip up to a spot along the Kings River which is only a few miles away from my house, he went for the flowers (the hills are fully in bloom right now) and me for the landscape opportunities to test my 8×10.

I spent a few minutes in the morning under the red darkroom light in the bathroom loading the 4 8×10 holders with Ilford MGIV RC paper (had to give each a trim along one long edge so they’d fit the holders).  I was done loading the holders so I started loading the two bags and was off to meet up with my friend.  We soon arrived and quickly started shooting, well Ron did anyway, I was scouting a position.

My friend Ron climbing for a primo shot of the blooms and rocks

My friend Ron climbing for a primo shot of the blooms and rocks, shot with the fuji x100

So here are a few of the processed Paper Negatives, I just did a quick copy with my Fuji x100 as I didn’t have the time to scan them in, but as you an see it works well.

My 1st shot, I had Ron sit for the 2 second shot.

My 1st shot, I had Ron sit for the 2 second shot. Fuji A 240 lens f/32 @ 2 Sec

I rated the paper for ISO 6 and shot everything based of my Gossen meter set to that ISO.  Also I tried a Yellow (K2) filter for all the shots, this meant giving an additional stop exposure.

2nd shot, f/64 @ 9 seconds

2nd shot, f/64 @ 9 seconds

2nd shot inverted to a positive and flipped for correct orientation

2nd shot inverted to a positive and flipped for correct orientation.

As I hope you can see there is ample information in the shadows, and once this is properly contact printed using the Ilford contrast filters this image will work out fine.  This is just a dirty view of the negative density that was recorded.

3rd shot

3rd shot, negative f/64 @ 8 seconds

 

Positive of Shot No. 3

Positive of Shot No. 3, again great detail in the shadows, sky was blue and therefore records white.

 

Shot No.4 f/45 @ 10 seconds

Shot No.4 f/45 @ 10 seconds, look at the Yummy detail

 

Shot No.4 positive

Shot No.4 positive

 

Shot No.5 f/64 @ 10 seconds

Shot No.5 f/64 @ 10 seconds

 

Shot No. 5 positive

Shot No. 5 positive, a bit of vignetting at the top corners due to extreme rise used to alleviate most of the roadway.

Shot 6 was a duplicate variation on time and aperture.  As you can see from these quick copies made with my digital camera I am in for a treat when I go to contact print a few of these (a subject for a future post).

So what are my thoughts? well I think I have success, now to go make some worthy shots of course and learn the paper negative medium, both sides, making the photograph and then contact printing the paper negatives using the variable contrast filter printing method as described by Tim Layton.

My good friend Ron Holman captured this photo of me with my New/Old 8x10 . . . might say he caught two old dawgs . . . Thanks Ron

My good friend Ron Holman captured this photo of me with my New/Old 8×10 . . . might say he caught two old dawgs . . .  Special thanks to my great friend Ron

So with that I’ll end this post with my fave saying . . . .

Get off your Butt and go take a picture . . . .

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

