Paper Positve

My two paper shots from today's outing in the wash

As seen here are two of my Harman Direct Positive paper shots from today’s outing in the wash after processing.

I am definitely jazzed about today’s quick photo outing.  I decided late in the day to load the 5×7 film holders with some Harman Direct Positive Paper and head up to the lake to make a few photos using the new paper positive material (it is cut to fit the 5×7 film holders).  So into the bathroom with the box of paper and the film holders plus a red LED light (the HDPP is not sensitive to red light so you can use a dim darkroom light to see what your doing) to load the holders, in a few minutes I had the 4 holders (8 shots, one per side) ready and was loading the camera and the rest of my paraphernalia (there is a lot of that to do Large Format photography), tripods and other shtuff  . . . plus a couple of digital cameras for those just in case shots (I am an avid or should I say rabid Nature/bird photographer).  Anyway off I go in search of some vistas to photograph and maybe a tree or rock or whatever strikes me at the moment.

Found a spot along the Kings River, actually overlooking it . . . so out comes the tripod, 5×7 wooden view camera (it is sporting a Fujinon 240mm lens today) and once that is positioned and leveled I go back and get my meter, focusing loupe and dark cloth . . . I had already pre-focused the camera during setup, now I would compose the shot on the ground glass (the image is upside down btw).  After a bit of positioning the image left and right, I now decided how much sky I wanted (you almost never place the horizon in the middle of the frame), I finally settled on a composition and locked all the adjustments down so as not to knock one out and screw up my focus/comp . . . so I metered the scene, Hmm . . .  not so bad, 2 seconds at f/22 (this is in the normal range for most large format photography) although I am still a bit skeptical about the reading as my ISO setting on the meter is set at its lowest (ISO 3.4) to accommodate the Harman Positive paper.  OK, I set up the lens and fire it a few times to work the shutter and make sure it sounds right (the shutter only goes down to 1 second so I set it to Bulb as I will manually time the shot) . . . So I go back to the car and get a film holder, go back to the camera and gently slide the film holder in between the focusing screen and camera body without moving anything.  Before I pull the dark slide from the holder I double check the lens (it is closed, cocked and ready with the proper settings), now I pull the dark slide and scan the scene once more, the light seems to be the same as when I metered, I scan once more and then press and hold the cable release as I began to count off . . . one thousand and one, one thousand and two . . . and close the shutter on the end of two . . . at which point I place the dark slide back into the film holder.  The count method works pretty well and is fairly accurate . . . and at those slow shutter times trust me you have a small bit of fudge factor as most imaging material is forgiving.  What did I get for my effort?

This was shot 1 today. Still wet (sorry for the poor digital shot of the photo) but couldn't resist sharing this from today's outing, Harmon positive paper Caffenol developed, Shot #1 Eastman No 2D 5x7 camera, Fujinon 240mm Lens F/22 @ 2 Sec, metered at ISO 3.4

This was shot 1 today. Still wet (sorry for the poor digital shot of the photo) but couldn’t resist sharing this from today’s outing, Harmon positive paper Caffenol developed, Shot #1 Eastman No 2D 5×7 camera, Fujinon 240mm f/9 Lens, F/22 @ 2 Sec, metered at ISO 3.4

Sorry if the shot above looks a bit soft, it is still wet from the wash and your seeing a bit of sheen from the water still on it’s surface.  But let me tell you, I am really impressed at the detail the image carries . . . I processed it in Caffenol (ergo the tint, but I like it).

Here is the second shot of the afternoon

Still wet (sorry for the poor digital shot of the photo) but couldn't resist sharing this from today's outing, Harmon positive paper Caffenol developed, Shot #2 Eastman No 2D 5x7 camera, Fujinon 240mm f/9 Lens, F/18 @ 4 Sec, metered at ISO 3.4

Still wet, Shot #2 Eastman No 2D 5×7 camera, Fujinon 240mm f/9 Lens, F/18 @ 4 Sec, metered at ISO 3.4

 

in the wash . . . I am lovin this positive paper and Caffenol combo

in the wash . . . I am lovin this positive paper and Caffenol combo

here is a 100% crop of the digital copy

100% crop of photo #1, sorry it is a poor copy from the original

100% crop of photo #1, sorry it is a poor copy from the original I did it hand held under poor lighting, and yet, you can see there is more then adequate detail available in this crop from the original 300 dpi file. 

Here is the main ingredients for the Caffenol Developer I am using.  Works for paper & film !

Cheap dollar store instant coffee

Cheap dollar store instant coffee, I am measuring the amount out, I prefer measuring in grams verses level spoonfuls

I make up enough for about 500ml in my 5×7 tray as well as the stop and fix which are all mixed for 500ml in their respective trays.  This amount is good for at least (4) four  5×7 paper positives (or paper negatives) then I toss it and start with all fresh chemicals for each tray.  I am so jazzed waiting for the latent image to come into being . . . it is just like the first time in the darkroom, I don’t think the thrill will ever be gone.  On a side note, I had 4 cameras with me today and of the 4 cameras all but one was using a fuji lens 🙂

Well there you have it, I may have made only two shots but I sure had fun . . . LOL, it took longer to post this then shoot, develop and admire those photos, whew I’m tired . . . Get off yer duff and get out and make a photo . . .

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

