Doin Crazy

Here is the question I was recently asked . . . “Tim, what’s the craziest thing you’ve done with a camera?”, and I answer as follows, “I shot a Hummingbird with a Large Format 4×5 camera !”, which in turn gets the following reply.

NO SHIT! You didn’t do that!!!!

Here's how you shoot a Hummingbird with a 4x5 camera.

That’s how I shoot a Hummingbird with a 4×5 camera.

Granted, it was a digital capture, but I could have set it up just the same for film (perhaps that’s the next challenge eh!) . . . I did use some exotic glass (Lens) . . . the Nikkor 500mm f/8 and a close-up diopter (Canon 500d) to shorten the close focus distance and attached the trusty old Phase-One H20 digital back to my Horseman 450 LF camera. Weeeeeee what fun.

Nikkor T 360/500 f/8~11 Large Format lens

Nikkor T 360/500 f/8~11 Large Format lens

 

 

 

Canon 500d close up lens

Canon 500d close up lens

 

 

Horseman 450 Large Format camera with H-20 Sliding back

Horseman 450 Large Format camera with Phase-One H-20 Sliding back

 

H-20

PhaseOne H-20 Digital back

 

Although it can be done I wouldn’t recommend this as a daily wildlife rig (Unless your shooting stuffed and mounted wildlife), the fact is, it can be done, and it was done.  When one of my friends whine about how they can’t do something with their gear because it is to limited I tell em about this adventure and show them a few photos.  I also tell them I don’t make it a habit of doing things the hard way . . . BUT . . . if you have to you can make do.  Photography is loads of fun, from great big cameras like this one to tiny digital camera phones.  It can be done and you CAN make a picture.

4x5 digital setup . . this draws attention

4×5 digital setup . . this draws attention

Just have fun and get out and create . . . well it’s the end of 2015, I am still kicking, blessings to all and hope to have as much fun next year . . . I outta here  . . . Doin Crazy

Tim ….. aka (Digipainter)

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

