You Tell Me

Little Dreamer

Little Dreamer

A late morning and the soft light spills from the kitchen into the living room where my granddaughter sleeps on the rocker recliner.  I just so happened to have two of my fave cameras close by that day.  The first I choose to shoot with was an old standby from my early days as a Photo journalist . . a Nikon FM2 . . . after several shots (11) I grabbed my Nikon D7000 and made a few more shots as well.  I wanted something immediate to review and post on my FB page, the film shots could wait for later processing . . . I also wanted to see the differences digital had over B&W and how I might change say my style of shooting or my composition since the FM2 is full frame and the D7000 is a cropped sensor camera.

Quiet reflections

Quiet reflections

 

curiosity

curiosity

It didn’t take very long to snap off those 11 shots with the film camera nor did it take long to get a comp I liked out of the Digital camera . . . I was very confident of all the shots being digital or analog, I knew I had at least a few “in da can” so to speak that were good.  The latter two photos “Quiet Reflections” & “Curiosity” are BW400CN film shot at normal ISO 400 and processed through a local lab . . . I like this film as it scans well and poses no surprises even when grossly out of date.  The film camera I used (an FM2) is an awesome all mechanical camera and will outlast many of my digital cameras and very possibly me . . and as for the photos the first one Little Dreamer is the end results of a color photo made with a digital camera and heavily processed to achieve a B&W effect, the latter two are slightly cropped but otherwise straight from the negative scan.  both could stand a bit more contrast, but esthetically they are just as valid as the digital photo.

here is the film version of “Little Dreamer”, You tell Me  . . . which one you like.

Little Dreamer II

Little Dreamer II

 

if you liked this post please pass it on, and do leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

