Heckle & Jeckle

Heckle & Jeckle

Heckle & Jeckle

I have been errant for some time now and have neglected my blog, I have been wandering about and been shooting hot & heavy for my 365 Project.  I do not know how many remember a couple of cartoon characters called Heckle & Jeckle (Crows) that where very mischievous, well on a recent trip to the coast I found a unique water element to add to my little garden just outside my kitchen window.  So what does that have to do with cameras, lenses and everything this blog is about?   I follow several blogs that deal with film and film cameras, one of my favorite is the FPP Blog they have a Pod Cast that is really great.

So . . What is up with me and what does a pair of copper crows have to do with photography, cameras and other weird gear.  I have been doing a lot with soft focus of late, making lenses out of magnifying glasses, old lens parts and other items.  I am still working on trying to re-create an old “petzval” style lens with out having to buy one outright.  Well I have reached a few dead ends it seems so that idea will be shelved, cant locate the proper glass lenses, some are flint and some are crown glass.   The ruddy picture of Heckle & Jeckle I posted at the beginning come in at this point, that pic is as fake a picture as I can make it to be and that brings me to my main topic.  What I mean is this, Fake, manipulated what ever you wish to call it is both a truth and a lie.

We photographers (and I do mean all of us, snap-shooter to Pro) manipulate the photograph even when we do not know it.  We impart our own ideas, ideals and even feelings when we compose the scene within the viewer, screen or eyepiece.  Yes we include only what we think is relevant to the image we make. So believe it or not , we all manipulate our photos to some degree.  To answer that nagging question, yep, I do it as well and am not knocking it, that is what makes each of those photos unique.

What I am saying, admitting to is … we all manipulate the photos we capture, create. we do it because we want to convey what we feel in it. Nuff said I have been away from this blog for far too long . . . my 365 Project is kickin along just fine I am at #177 . . .

Have fun . . . I will be back soon with another post “Do you filter your Photons

This is Tim signing off for now . . . . get clickin ppl

2 thoughts on “Heckle & Jeckle

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

