Wednesday Cold Frost and Hummingbirds

Well here it is the 2nd of January and we are just getting some freezing weather, the Sugar water in the Hummingbird feeders is half frozen and yet I have one of my favorite birds still feeding outside my kitchen window.  I actually have two different species of Hummingbirds wintering over.  One being the “Costa’s Hummingbird” pictured below and the other is the “Anna’s Hummingbird” . . both are a common sight at my feeders and both migrate south during the winter.  They will winter here at my location, Reedley,Ca., which is at their Northern most winter boundary (Central California).  Temps here can reach into the low teens (minus Celsius) usually early mornings, but rarely stays there.  One can read more on Hummingbird physiology on the internet here http://www.worldofhummingbirds.com/facts.php  of which one is where the Hummingbird goes into a stupor to survive cold weather.  I took this shot with my Nikon D7000, 300mm f/4 + 12mm extension tube (lets me focus closer) at ISO 800, f/4.8, 1/500th sec. Why the high ISO, so I can shoot handheld. Why post this, because these are my favorite bird subjects to photograph, and to share the interest in these wonderful tiny creatures that often weight less then a ball point pen.

WCHB-No2798  Costa’s Hummingbird (male) early morning as the frost turns to mist and swirls about him.

Day  dayNo22 photo of my 365 project

All pictures are copyrighted, if you find one of interest and wish to purchase one please let me know.  Thanks and have a great one

Tim

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

