Garden Colors No.9670

I was at my kitchen window this morning, sipping a fresh cup of coffee.  Not very interesting that but you see I have Hummingbird feeders that hang just beyond the window above a few pots of purple and pink Salvia.  I often watch and photograph the Hummingbirds that feed on the flowers of the Salvia.   What made this morning different was I had an uncommon hummingbird visiting (a Costa’s hummingbird) the feeders.  I walked back to the camera room and retrieved my camera to make a few snaps of the Costa’s Hummingbird and in doing so found a side picture of the flowers as well.  I am not much for abstracts but upon pulling focus while tracking the Hummingbird I saw the following picture.  I didn’t snap it just then but kept tracking the little hummingbird for a few more seconds (they seldom stay in range for more then 3 to 4 seconds).  When done I stepped back a moment and returned to the view I had of the flowers. There was a soft beam of light just striking s few flowers so I began to play with composition of the out of focus images and made several snaps.  Here is one I liked, the details of the shot are as follows.

Camera: Nikon d7000, Nikkor 300mm f/4 with a 12mm extension tube(this allows for closer focusing), ISO 1000, shutter 1/500 sec @ f/4.

Image

Leave a Reply

All Aspects of Photography

EXPLORATIONS IN THE PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS - www.allaspectsphotography.com

Mark Hilliard Atelier's Blog

Fine Art Nature Photography Of Mark Hilliard

GIMP Magazine

A Premier GIMP Users Magazine

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Captivate Me

..finding magic in the ordinary..

